“I got this for you. Do you like it?”

Last week I had to be out-of-town for a couple of days.

The afternoon I got home Madison had a surprise for me. As she always does with a surprise, she held it behind her back, swaying so side to side, her smile so big it could barely fit on her face,

“Do you know what it is?” she asked.

“I do not. What is it?”

She then hands me a banana.

“It’s a banana. I got this for you.  Do you like it?”

“Of course, it’s great.”

“I got it at the cafeteria for you. When I was doing my job. Do you like it?”

As part of Madison’s day at school, she works in the school cafeteria. She loves this part of her day. She gets to put on plastic gloves and help stock chips or get silverware packs in place.

So last week, when she missed me while I was out-of-town and she was at the cafeteria working, she picked out a banana, paid for it from her special account, stuck it in her backpack and brought it home for me.

It wasn’t fancy, or elaborate, or expensive, or impressive.

It wasn’t a token given from abundance or a gesture given to gain attention.

It was the kindest of all gifts, because she simply gave all that she could give.

We learn all kinds of things from Madison.

Her gift of the banana was a great reminder that I need to always remember that it is not the size of the gift but rather the size of the heart behind the gift that matters.

Posted on November 21, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

