What I learned today listening to SiriusXM – ’70’s on 7

When I was in junior high school in Yardley, Pa. I was in a band. I don’t remember what we called ourselves, but we practiced in our living room and we were not very good. My dad was a good sport because we left a drum set in the middle of everything for weeks at a time.

I think we knew three songs: “Takin’ it to the Streets” by the Doobie Brothers; “Dream On” by Aerosmith, and a very fuzzy version of “Free Bird.” I remember we had a tenor saxophone player which came in handy on “Takin’ it to the Streets”  by I can’t recall what he did during “Free Bird.” We must have had at least three guitar players and a girl singer (which I thought was really lame.) Pretty sure she was the girlfriend of the saxophone player.

I played in lots of different bands in high school, but with this particular group I think we only played one gig – a talent show at the local Catholic Church. I think we opted against playing “Free Bird” for fear the nuns wouldn’t appreciate a (really bad) 10- minute guitar solo.

We probably should have opted against playing anything at all. Seems that my Catholic friend ended up having to be the altar boy for about a year and a half after our performance.

All that said, I love (much of )the music of the ’70’s so this was a fun day for me.

Some fo the highlights:

  1. “What’s Your Name?” by Lynyrd Skynyrd. It wasn’t “Free BIrd” but what is, really…?
  2. “Nobody Does it Better Than You” – the theme from the first James Bond movie I ever saw. It was a hot summer afternoon and my buddies and I went to the movies. I remember thinking “man he had cool stuff…and the girls weren’t bad either.”
  3. “Superstition” by Stevie Wonder. Groovy.
  4. “Hooked on a Feeling”  -by  Blue Swede. (Who knew that was the name of the band?) But man that “Kaja goo-goo” opening is about as cool as ’70’s music gets. I wonder if B.J. Thomas gets a knot in his stomach every time he hears this version of his song?
  5.  “Cat’s in the Cradle” – Now that I’m a Dad, this seems a little more real and a lot less goofy folk song than before. Because the girls do like me, don’t they…?
  6. “Piano Man” – I can still play this song. A regret in life, I never learned how to play the harmonica. Or the ukulele. Maybe they’ll be a song on another channel that features the ukulele and makes me winsome again,
  7. “American Pie” – weirder than I remember…
  8. “Jackie Blue” – my little sister’s name is Jackie. I used to sing this song at…err rather around here. Secretly I was jealous that there was a song on the radio with her name and not mine.
I am loving this little sociological experiemnet. Pretty sure there will be a bunch of jacked up stuff down the dial, but hey, i am broadening my horizons…
Posted on November 15, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

