Why I am glad my wife is not “My Rock.”

I’ve heard some say that their spouse is a rock. Solid. Steady. Unmoving.

I’d have to say that Annette is more like a glob of Flubber. In that she is Flexible. Adaptable. Ever changing.

When we married 19 years ago today I am pretty confident that neither of us could have predicted what lay ahead. I am pretty sure it involved suburbia, white picket fences, and a high degree of normalcy.

That is not what we got. Well actually we did for the first few years of marriage. After we got through the rough early years that everyone has. (“Who is this person” “What planet are you from?” “Who kidnapped my husband and replaced him with you?”)

Then after a bit of a challenge we got pregnant and had a beautiful bouncing girl. And then a few months later (and by a few I mean like four…) we got pregnant again.

And then it all changed.

Madison got sick.

And McKenzie was born.

Then 18 months later Macie was born.

And though it all Annette was not a rock. She was not stoic. Or locked up. Or Stuck.

Rather she was as fluid as the waves on the beach. Ready to adjust and move, this way and then another, able to fit all of life into the ever changing crevices of the instability that comes with a family like ours.

And then the idea of Show Offs Art was birthed in her heart. A desire to use all that she was (and even all that she didn’t know she was…yet) to use the experience of raising the girls, and loving me, and loving God to encourage other Moms.

Still more change.

And then the teenage years…

And through it all, she is as ever changing as ever.

“Ok, this won’t work, then we’ll do that.”

With all the seizures and the meds and the surgeries and the growing pains and the fitting in and the McKenzie and Macie growing up and Madison staying young it is a life that we never in a million years imagined. Or planned. Or dreamed. Or hoped for…

But it is the life, that together 19 years ago today, we both said “yes to.” And when we left the altar, after saying I do, the song that played was Steven Curtis Chapman’s “The Great Adventure.”

Saddle up your horses we’ve got a trail to blaze
Through the wild blue yonder of God’s amazing grace
Let’s follow our leader into the glorious unknown
This is a life like no other – this is The Great Adventure

We’ll travel over, over mountains so high
We’ll go through valleys below
Still through it all we’ll find that
This is the greatest journey that the human heart will ever see
The love of God will take us far beyond our wildest dreams

I do not know what the future holds. I do not even know what I will have for lunch. All I know is that I am lucky to have girl like my “Un-Rock” Annette; adaptable, adjusting, adorable, to walk with me through all of it.

Posted on November 14, 2011, in Dad stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. So beautiful… congrats!!

Leave a Reply

