What I learned from SiriusXM – ’60’s on 6

Now THAT was a dayful of music.

I am enjoying my journey through SiriusXM. I feel a little bit like an archaeologist digging through layers of pop culture, trying to get a better understanding what was going on in the given decade. While the music of the ‘50’s was just a boatload of fun, the ‘60’s tended to be a bit more angry or chemically-induced.

As a sidebar, I had a friend remind me today that there are a few challenges that are perhaps a bit “edgier” than what I typically listen to. Should be interesting.

Here are some thoughts based on what I heard today:

  1. Aretha Franklin can sing. Just like with Elvis yesterday, I tend to put Aretha and ‘R-E-S-P-E-C-T” in the caricature column. Wrong. She can wail.
  2. Loved “Different Strokes” by Sly and the Family Stone. And song that incorporates the words “Scooby Dooby Doo” so effectively has got to be awesome.
  3. “Ballad of the Green Beret”  – have never heard that. A combination folk song/armed service recruiting song…very interesting, especially given its place in history.
  4. “They call me Mellow Yellow” – Which cam first, the song or the Moutain Dew knock off soda?
  5. “What a Wonderful World” by Louis Armstrong may be one of the most comfortable songs of all time.
  6. “All you need is love” by The Beatles. Classic.
  7. “Leaving on a jet plane” by Peter, Paul, and Mary. Back when flying was glamorous. Now it would be, “Crammed on a teeny, tiny plane for two and a half hours and all they gave me was a bag of peanuts.” But that is harder to fit to a melody, so just as well it was written decades ago.
  8. The Beach Boys were a favorite of my cousins who lived in Iowa . Which is, I guess pretty weird in itself. I mean how is that farm boys can relate to California Dudes. But I digress…”Catch a Wave” is well, catchy… And those screaming high falsettos are just plain groovy.
  9. Sonny & Cher – I loved their TV show. “I got you Babe.”  Who’d ever thunk their daughter err…son would be on “Dancing with the Stars?” What a great country we have…
  10. The BeeGee’s had a song called “New York Mining Disaster.” It was a real toe-tapper. Can’t imagine why it did not make the Saturday Night Live soundtrack…
  11. The Cowsills – I have never heard them before. Wikipedia says they are a band fo brothers from Rhode Island. The song I heard was “Hair” (title song from the musical “Hair”)and the lyrics are awesome. I have to share them.

She asks me why
I’m just a hairy guy
I’m hairy noon and night
Hair that’s a fright
I’m hairy high and low
Don’t ask me why
Don’t know
It’s not for lack of bread
Like the Grateful Dead
Darling

Gimme head with hair
Long beautiful hair
Shining, gleaming,
Streaming, flaxen, waxen

Give me down to there hair
Shoulder length or longer
Here baby, there mama
Everywhere daddy daddy

Hair, hair, hair, hair, hair, hair, hair
Flow it, show it
Long as God can grow it
My hair

Let it fly in the breeze
And get caught in the trees
Give a home to the fleas in my hair
A home for fleas
A hive for bees
A nest for birds
There ain’t no words
For the beauty, the splendor, the wonder
Of my…

Hair, hair, hair, hair, hair, hair, hair
Flow it, show it
Long as God can grow it
My hair

I want it long, straight, curly, fuzzy
Snaggy, shaggy, ratty, matty
Oily, greasy, fleecy
Shining, gleaming, streaming
Flaxen, waxen
Knotted, polka-dotted
Twisted, beaded, braided
Powdered, flowered, and confettied
Bangled, tangled, spangled, and spaghettied!

Oh say can you see
My eyes if you can
Then my hair’s too short

Down to here
Down to there
Down to where
It stops by itself

They’ll be ga ga at the go go
When they see me in my toga
My toga made of blond
Brilliantined
Biblical hair

My hair like Jesus wore it

 

Hallelujah I adore it
Hallelujah Mary loved her son
Why don’t my mother love me?

Hair, hair, hair, hair, hair, hair, hair
Flow it, show it
Long as God can grow it
My hair, hair, hair, hair, hair, hair, hair
Flow it, show it
Long as God can grow it

It was a totally groovy day…

Posted on November 10, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

