Thoughts on Genesis 16 “Note to Abram – Just say No!”

Now Sarai, Abram’s wife, had borne him no children. But she had an Egyptian maidservant named Hagar; 2 so she said to Abram, “The LORD has kept me from having children. Go, sleep with my maidservant; perhaps I can build a family through her.” Abram agreed to what Sarai said.

I think that the famous Nike
advertising slogan “Just Do It” was born out of this scene… However in this case it would have been “JUST SAY NO!!!!!”

Abram and Sarai have been through a lot. What with the whole “say you’re my sister” episode, and so they are no doubt at their end of their rope.

But even so this is the point where Abram needed to just take a deep breath and say, “uhm Sarai honey…are you still mad about that whole ‘she’s my sister thing? Cause if you are this is not really a good solution. Because while yes, your servant Hagar is, how do
the young people say it, “HOT….”

Note

to Abram…shut up!

 But no….Abram does not hush up…I imagine he continues “…and yes all the guys do check her out…but I am not sure that this is such a good idea because you remember that God said that “I would have all the descendants….dust of the earth…grains of sand stuff…remember that. I do not remember him saying anything  about ‘you Abram…why don’t you go hook up with Hagar…cause I am pretty sure I would remember something like that…”

Note

to Abram….put your Big Boy panties on and “Just Say NO!”

 

“He slept with Hagar, and she conceived.”


Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Will you never listen to me?

Amazing how a few thousand years of hindsight gives light to crazy impulsive decisions. This makes me doubly glad that my life is not immortalized in any book…

Posted on October 26, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

