Finally, a use for 7th grade geography vocabulary words

I have spent the last several decades wondering if I would ever use 7th grade geography vocabulary words. (Actually I have not spent decades worrying about this – I am just now realizing that it has been decades since I have actually used any of the terms that I was so vehemently promised “you will use this all your life.”)

But now,finally, as a 40-something, I know have use of one of the words from Pennwood Junior High School.

pen·in·su·la [puh-nin-suh-luh, -nins-yuh-luh]

1.an area of land almost completely surrounded by water except for an isthmus connecting it with the mainland.
However, in my particular case, the usage of  the word”Peninsula” is a bit different than what I learned back in junior high where we were referring to a place like Florida as a “Peninsula.”
My use is more related to personal appearance.
As in “I have a peninsula of hair on my high forehead.”
Simply meaning that seemingly overnight my surrounding forehead hair has disapperaed, and I am left with, to use the definition language, “an area of hair almost completely surrounded by skin except for an isthmus connecting it with the hair mainland.”
I guess it could be worse.
I could be like my freinds who have a hair “tundra. That is a “vast treeless zone.”
Posted on October 20, 2011, in Dad stuff, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

