Would you work seven years to get your wife? Really?

some thouhts about Genesis 29:18

Jacob was in love with Rachel and said, “I’ll work for you seven years in return for your younger daughter Rachel.” 

Talk about your delayed gratification…waiting seven years (nay not just waiting, WORKING seven years for a girl.)

So I put myself in Jacob’s sandals…what would I be willing to work seven years for?

Seven years?

Really?

So…

Here is my (sort of) list:

–    I have to say my wife because it is the answer you have to give… But truly, how many of you, in your heart of hearts, when the final whispers of  Sports Center have drifted out of your head and it is just you….would voluntarily say “sign me up….seven years of work and then I get the girl.” Sad to say, but we are just not wired that way in 2011… (I add the caveat that I would absolutely work seven years for her today, but I am saying back when I was 20 years old and the option was “work seven years” I think that would have been easier said than done…)

–    Healing for Madison. We have a daughter who has a number of physical and neurological challenges.  I think I would be willing to go seven years for her. But only IF I had a guarantee on IQ and health and all the stuff that goes along with it. There would have to be a contract.

–    Something incredible for our other two girls. But they would have to split it. Like maybe 3.5 years for each girl.

Beyond that, pretty sure it is nothing.

And frankly I have to work pretty hard to talk myself into thinking that I would honestly do it for any of the things I listed above.

I think we can all be pretty selfish.

(and yes it just dawned on me that a few chapters before Jacob very selfishly scammed  Esau out of the birthright and the blessing….man these early Bible guys are complex. And messed up.)

Posted on September 1, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

