Perhaps the second biggest (after Eve and the apple) “Boy I sure wish I didn’t do this” moment in the Bible

Genesis 12:13

To my thinking this is perhaps the second biggest (after Eve and the apple) “Boy I sure wish I didn’t do this moment in the Bible.”

In this passage, Abram and his wife are headed into Egypt to try to get some food for everyone because things were really bad at the house. And just as Sarai is getting ready to ring the doorbell in Egypt, Abram grabs her hand and in a smooth and debonair way, “Oh, I almost forgot. Baby, when we get inside the Pharaoh’s house, how about we try this….how about we say…uhmm….I was just thinking that maybe we ought to, just this one time,…yeah you;re gonna think this was funny some day…I’ll just say you’re my sister…isn’t that crazy? Sarai…Sarai…where are you going…put that rock down…”

So for some reason Sarai goes with the plan and then later in the story, the Pharaoh has tried to put the moves on Sarai, and then he discovers that Sarai is actually Abram’s wife, not his sister.

“What have you done to me?” he said. “Why didn’t you tell me she was your wife? Why did you say, ‘She is my sister,’ so that I took her to be my wife?

 And this is not in the Bible, but I would almost certainly guess that Sarai, being the loving supportive wife chimes in, “yeah Abram…why did you do that to Pharaoh?”

To which Abran replies, “Gulp….”

Posted on August 16, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

