I like taking out the trash.

I like taking the trash out.

Is that weird?

Cause I do.

Of all the "dad" jobs that I do, like cutting the grass or squashing bugs or changing the oil in the car driving the cars to the place where real men actually change the oil, perhaps my favorite "dad" job is taking out the trash.

I actually like going room to room, and gathering up all the trash and putting in the big trash bag and taking it to the trash can out by the garage.

Sometimes it seems like when I get all the stuff out of the house, the house seems bigger, and maybe a bit lighter, because all the trash is gone.

I’m not sure why this is so enjoyable, and frankly as I write it down, it seems more than just a bit odd.

Nonetheless, come tomorrow evening when I have to gather up all the trash before the garbage man comes on Tuesday morning, I will be a happy guy.

Posted on October 12, 2008, in Dad stuff. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Odd, yes…but I’m sure it’s very appreciated by all those you live with.

Leave a Reply

