Important verse (but then I guess they really are all important)

have been giving a lot of consideration recently to all that the girls are doing and making sure that it ties to what is really important for them and their growth.

In his book, "Good to Great" Jim Collins talks about how ‘Good’ is the enemy of ‘Great.’ I am afraid that sometimes I am guilty of substituting a number of ‘good’ things in their (my???) life and crowd out the ‘great’ things.

Andy Stanley, pastor at Northpoint Community Church, talks about how we have a lot of kids who are "experience rich and relationship poor." They do a lot of things, but what is getting poured into their lives in terms of making better relationships.

At the end of the day, do kids (or do I) look back and go "if I had just made the travel team…or done karate and dance and gymnastics…or etc" my life would be better? Or do they look back and go "I wish my parents/teachers/friends/family/mentors had gotten more involved with "me," not just in getting "me" different places.

Just a lot to ponder….

"The Lord does not look at the things that man looks at. Man looks at the outward appearance, but the Lord looks at the heart."

1 Samuel 16:7

I seem to be more drawn to the outward, even with the girls…are we doing well in school…is (insert name here) in the top (insert subject here) class…is someone inviting them over enough…how are the standardized test scores (compared to)…is Suzie making a scene/do others think I am not a good parent because she is???

Rather than importat questions like… are they learning to love God…are they learning to love other people…are they generous…are they kind…?

Posted on October 8, 2008, in Dad stuff. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thanks for the reminder! Challenging night last night with my 7 year old and I really needed to hear this today!
    Blessings,
    Dori

  2. dori – amazing how we can all get sidetracked.

Leave a Reply

