To the parents of the young man who passed me Tuesday morning

To the parents of the young man who passed me on Raintree Parkway Tuesday morning,

On Tuesday morning your son passed me on his way to school. Normally I wouldn’t say anything but he passed me on Raintree Parkway at 6:50 am. Since you live around here, you no doubt know that Raintree Parkway is very clearly marked as a "no passing" zone with a double yellow line running down the middle of the road.

And Tuesday morning on a road full of other kids driving to school and school buses taking kids to school your son, with a friend in the car, crossed the double yellow line, narrowly missing a car coming the other way, and laughed as he drove past.

I couldn’t catch all of his license plate number onhis gray car but it started with 931 and then had three letters. He sped off so I did not see the rest.

I just thought you miggt like to know. I am sure you love your son like I love my daughters. And I know that I will want to know if my daughters ever drive in a way that puts them or anyone else in danger.

So if by chance the person who has a son who drives a gray car with a license plate that starts with the numbers 931, please talk to your son about driving more carefully. Cause while I am concerned about his safety and well-being, I am more concerned about my sweet Kenzo’s safety and well-being, and Tuesday morning your son put that at risk.

I thought you would want to know.

Posted on September 18, 2008, in Dad stuff. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I hope by some off chance those parents stumble across this blog! I know teenagers think they’re invincible, which is scary… not only for them, but for the rest of us too!
    I think this is my first time posting here, I’ve been reading your blog for a couple weeks now. We live in Middle TN, too and spend a lot of time at Vanderbilt. You have a beautiful family!

  2. Reminds me of the morning I was driving to school and a similar thing happened to me. This was an adult driving about 55 mph through our school zone, however, and her vanity plate read:
    “GOWTHGOD”
    My advice to her was, by all means, “Go With God.” But please do it at 20 mph through a school zone!
    Dori

  3. Hello, daddy. I wuv you too. ^^
    XOXOKENZO

Leave a Reply

