“Do you want to pray first or me?”

"Do you want to pray first or me?"

For as long as I can remember, "Do you want to pray first or me?" has been part of my nightly ritual with Kenzo. This is my favorite part of the day. The lights are out, the TV is off, the homework is done (I hope) and all that is left is the last handful of thoughts and wonderings and wanderings.

And so Kenzo will burrow into her bed, or maybe sprawl on the floor, or lean her lanky eleven-year-old slef up against me and we will dissect the day. Then after we have solved the problems of the world, it is time to pray.

"Do you want to pray first or me?"

Every night I ask the question, because that is what we do.

"Do you want to pray first or me?"

"You go first," she says. Because that is what we do.

And then I pray. Typically a rather pedestrian prayer I must admit. For my girls. For some friends, for the issues of life that day or week.

But then Kenzo prays, and I daresay that all of Heaven goes on break from all they are doing to hear Kenzo pray.

Because it is not a litany or a lie or a "look at how spiritual I am" exercise. It is simply Kenzo talking with God, telling the Creator of the Universe what is on her heart in the most honest, conversational, eleven-year-old-esque way possible.

"Hey God…you’re awesome. Thanks for a great day, it was really cool when…"

So I am glad that every night our routine is "Do you want to pray first or me?" beacuse after I pray I get to hear Kenzo pray, and that in itself is an answer to one of my biggest prayers ever, that my girls would know God.

Posted on August 19, 2008, in Dad stuff. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

