I said it…

I think maybe I had a mental list of things that I wouldn’t say as a dad…things I think that perhaps my parents said to me, or maybe just things I’ve heard others talk about.

Some of the obvious things that I promised myself wouldn’t say as a dad:

  • This is going to hurt me more than you.
  • Well if (insert name here) was going to jump off a bridge/jump into a lake would you do that too?
  • Back when I was your age…

I’m sure there are hundreds….

But tonight….oh tonight….

I said the mother-of-all the things that I promised myself wouldn’t say as a dad.

What, pray tell, is that?

I said….

"You’ll put your eye out with that."

A kid up the street was walking around with a new BB gun, Kenzo asked if she could shoot it, and before I could gather my thoughts I said "you’ll put your eye out with that."

What’s next… "I didn’t need all those fancy electronics when I was a kid…i was just happy to have a rock and a stick…that was all I needed to keep me happy.

Posted on April 16, 2008, in Dad stuff. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

