My Grandma invited iced coffee

I’m pretty sure my Grandma Gaston invented iced coffee.

I see all these fancy coffee places with their big shiny signs about "new iced coffee" and I think to myself, ‘what are y’all talking about…my Grandma did that 35 years ago.’

My grandparents, on my mom’s side, lived in Keosauqua, Iowa. And she was a buttoned up kind of grandma. She used to wear dresses to my little league games and pantyhose to swimming meets.

And she drank coffee. Iced coffee.

I remember, as a kid, being all confused about how she would order coffee, even on a hot summer day. ‘Seems too hot to drink’ something hot I would think. And then when the waitress at the Crouse Cafe would bring her a white ceramic cup of coffee, my grandma would take her spoon, drag it across the top of her water glass to retrieve a spoonful of ice, and then slip it into her coffee.

And there it was…iced coffee.

I was witness to an amazing invention, and I didn’t even know it. And I’m pretty sure my dress-wearing granny didn’t know how big her invention would be either.

Posted on November 5, 2007, in Dad stuff. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

