Dead at 45….

Chris Hannon was a friend of mine. Not a terribly close, "see you tomorrow" kind of friend, but a "worked together for five years walking through the same stage of life at the same time" kind of friend.

He was a great man. Smart, funny (which is a bit of an oxymoron for a CFO), hard-working, loved his wife (like many of us he married way over his head) and adored his four young daughters.

It is in situations like this, and in too many others happening way too often now, where you sit back and go, "what am I doing with this life?"

I tend to be an optimistic guy. When I see life expectancy estimates, I think to myself "I feel pretty good," I bet I’ll beat that 75 year average by a good length. Then the harsh reality of the passing of great guys like Chris Hannon or Jeff Wallace and I realize that I am not guaranteed the 75+ years. I am only guaranteed this breath.

Life is short. Life is fleeting. I do not want the story of my life to be "Jeff was a funny guy who thought about doing a lot of really cool things."

Today will matter.

Posted on September 6, 2007, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

