Things that don’t make sense

The world lost a good man today.

Jeff Wallace was a good husband, a good dad, a good business man, and a good guy. He died of a heart attack, no real warnings that I am aware of.

He was 43 and had a 10-year-old daughter. Just like me.

So as I was putting Kenzo to bed tonight, we said our prayers for the Wallace family and all the others as normal. Then she leaned in extra close to me and said,

"Daddy, please don’t die."

And so I paused for a second, and then said,

"Kenzo, I will do everything in my power to make sure that I don’t."

And all I could think of was Jeff Wallace’s young daughter, who will not say prayers with her daddy tonight. And that on any other night before today, she could have made the same request of her dad.

And then I thought that the older I get, the less sense life makes sometimes.

Lord Jesus, please keep sweet Alex and her family close to you.

Posted on May 6, 2007, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

