A Physiological Oddity…

One of the joys of living in Middle Tennessee is in the on-slaught of allergy-type things this time of year. We get a couple of warm days, some flowers or trees get all jazzed, and the next thing you know you can hardly breathe.

That is where I am today.

But the real interesting part of all this nasal/sinus/throat/mucus/snot/sneezing extravaganza is, to me, in one simple thing…

How does the junk clogging up one side of your nose all of a sudden end up on the other side of your nose? As I sit here, currently the "cloggage," (that is my new patented and copyrighted technical term for this phenomenon…) is on the right side. But I am certain that at some point this morning I will take pause and realize that the cloggage has moved, part and parcel, to the other side.

How does that happen? And how do I not know it is happening? Surely I should feel some sort of mass mucus migration across my sinus cavities. But nothing. I just all of a sudden realize that the snot has left the arena, loaded the proboscis bus, and moved to the other side of the tracks.

I just don’t get how this happens…

To borrow a portion of a phrase from George Clooney in "O Brother, Where Art Thou?" I guess it is just a physiological oddity….

Posted on March 20, 2007, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

