“Permanent” disabled

Photo_124_3 Last night as I was putting Suzie to bed I had one of those "mad at the world" moments. We had just had the whole catch the potato on fire which lead to the house filling with smoke which led to the fire department showing up…All in all a pretty dramatic night at the AtwoodZoo.

And as Suzie was getting settled I was still (in my head) fuming about the mostly-new microwave catching on fire and everything stinking and then having the furnace run for the whole night cause we had to have fans in the window to get all the smoke out and blah, blah, blah…

It was quickly bubbling up to a boiling point of "look how tough we have it with this special needs child and I wonder what will happen next that other families don’t have to deal with" when Suzie spoke the biggest of truths to me.

She had just snuggled down on her Dora pillow, then all of a sudden sat straight up in her bed. "Daddy, Abby is my best friend. I want to see the picture." Abby is Suzie’s best friend. Abby has been in a wheelchair her whole life and is mostly non-verbal. A rolling angel…

So I (grudgingly) flipped the light one and handed her the picture from her bedside of she and Abby. "Daddy, in Heaven I will walk with Abby. I will walk with Abby."

And all my fussiness just evaporated. Because Suzie is not as she is labeled by many. She is not "permanently" disabled. Nor is Abby. They are temporarily held back, but for the length of all time and space in Heaven they will walk.

From Revelation 21:5 (The Message) "…They’re his people, he’s their God. He’ll wipe every tear from their eyes. Death is gone for good – tears gone, crying gone, pain gone…"

Posted on February 7, 2007, in Dad stuff. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

